Compares American Job Centers (AJCs) from seven local areas in six states that adopted an integrated enhanced intake model for service delivery with AJCs that did not. The brief discusses how these seven local areas implemented this model and highlights challenges they faced using qualitative data collected in 2012 and 2013 through the Workforce Investment Act Adult and Dislocated Worker Programs Gold Standard Evaluation.

“As the Workforce Investment Act of 1998 (WIA) reached its second decade, some states and Local Workforce Investment Areas (local areas) began to implement a new model of service provision in which all job seekers receive staff-assisted employment services during their first visit to an…AJC…formerly known as a One-Stop Career Center.…Instead of conducting a primarily self-directed job search on their first visit to an AJC, under this new model, customers meet with a staff member who assesses their needs and discusses service options. Some local areas train staff members from both WIA and the Wagner-Peyser Employment Service (ES) programs to provide this up-front assistance in the same way regardless of their program affiliation. Many refer to this integration of staff from different programs to provide a service as ‘functional alignment.’ This brief uses the term ‘integrated enhanced intake’ to refer to the model in which all new AJC customers receive up-front staff-assisted services and in which these services are provided by functionally-aligned staff from the WIA and ES programs” (p.1).

For its analysis, the brief relied on qualitative data collected from “[s]even of the 28 local areas that participated in the WIA Adult and Dislocated Worker Programs Gold Standard Evaluation…[that] implemented this integrated enhanced intake model…in 2012 and 2013. This brief describes the rationale for the model, how these seven local areas implemented this model in practice, and the challenges they encountered” (p.2).

The study local areas that adopted this new service delivery model include

  • “Capital Region (New York)
  • Central Region (Missouri)
  • Chautauqua County (New York)
  • New Orleans (Louisiana)
  • Northwest Pennsylvania
  • Sacramento (California)
  • Twin Districts (Mississippi)” (p.2).


“Frequently, the impetus for introducing the integrated enhanced intake model came from the state. For example, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Missouri mandated the use of this model” (p.3).


This issue brief is one in a series of briefs that presents findings from the WIA Adult and Dislocated Worker Programs Gold Standard Evaluation, which is being conducted for the U.S. Department of Labor…, Employment and Training Administration…. The study examines the implementation, effectiveness, and benefits and costs of the Adult and Dislocated Worker programs using an experimental design” (p.6).

 (Abstractor: Author and Website Staff)